No Green Thumb

I was definitely not born with a green thumb.  In fact, I have always said I must have been born with a black thumb.  Any plant I have ever been given has always died and usually pretty quickly.  I have always wanted to grow our own food, but have never wanted to attempt it because, well, I have been certain it would just die.

Despite all of that, I decided to plant a few seeds.  I started with cucumber, basil, bush beans, broccoli, and zucchini.  I started six seeds of each in a moist paper towel inside a Ziploc bag.  I left them for two days and to my surprise when I opened them, they ALL sprouted.  I think my kids thought I was nuts when I got so excited.  The kids helped me prep some pots with good soil and I began planting.  It has only been about a week, but look how good these are doing!!

P1050993

I know the second and fourth one you can’t see very well, but I promise there are six tiny sprouts in each container.  These are the basil and broccoli which seem to take longer than the other three.  I know it’s only been a week, but I’ll take it.  Baby steps!  Maybe one day I’ll have an entire garden growing in my backyard.  I can dream, right?  🙂

Leave a Reply

